👑Favorite Games – Fire Emblem: Awakening

Oh boy oh boy, I am so so excited about the upcoming Fire Emblem: Fates.  Literally, when I saw the My Castle trailer I said aloud, “I can’t die until this game comes out!”  And then I rolled around a squee’d about the “people-amie” concept they have going on.  If you haven’t seen it yet, it’s worth a look.

So that’s why I want to talk today about Fire Emblem: Awakening; one of my favorite games for the 3ds. 💖  Around this time 2 years ago, I went to Target on a lark, picked up this game, a pair of pajamas, and a bottle of self-tanner (so it would look like I had gone outside) and sat down to play what would become one of my top video game experiences in my life.

In short, Fire Emblem: Awakening is one part role-playing strategy game, like Final Fantasy Tactics or Disgaea, and one part hilarious dating sim.  You move your units around the board to fight and destroy the other units.  While doing so, you can put your units next to each other, or pair them up, to have them take action together and build their relationship. 💏

In Awakening, you start off by customizing an avatar that will represent you in the game.  Of course, the fanfiction community totally loved this, since it added legitimacy to adding their OC (Original Character) to every story and making every character fall in love with them.  In Awakening, you’re invited to plonk your good old self (or some creatively re-imagined version of yourself) into the game and start romancing up all the characters. 💋

Eventually, with enough relationship building, your units may reach rank S, which means they will marry one another 💍.  So, in short, you end up with a while army of husbands and wives (which would make the barracks are really awkward place to be, 😳but never mind that.)  Unfortunately, this game does not allow for same sex unions, but at least there is a storyline relevant reason for that to be the case. (And plenty of hints and suggestions for all varieties of romance)

❤️ A morale boosting poster commissioned by Frederick. ❤️
❤️ A morale boosting poster commissioned by Frederick. ❤️
Of course I had one commissioned at Fanime Con.  Of course! ❤️
Of course I had one commissioned at Fanime Con. ❤️ I love the embarrassed little look on his face.

Did I mention, the dialogue for this game is hilarious?  It’s really so, so good.  Intelligent Systems does a great job with this kind of stuff, and make many of my favorite games because of their mastery of characterization and humor.  In fact, it was so good I went though countless battles (which were also good, don’t get me wrong) to get every character combination up to S rank (obviously, people can’t be married to more than one person, so it took a bit of a trick with saving the game in different slots 😉)

As a special bonus, when your character finally reaches S rank with a character, you get a ultra embarrassing, super sparkly, voice-acted love confession scene that is virtually GUARANTEED to leave you extremely embarrassed.💖💖💖  They look a little something like this:

That’s Lon’qu, who was my carefully selected hasubando. 😘 He’s afraid of women, so naturally he had to be mine.  Of course, if I were to do it all again, I’d have to say the best confession belongs to this guy right here:

Of course, there’s plenty of man (and woman) service whatever your proclivities may be.  A few other notable characters include a gothic sorceress who is obsessed with your unit (regardless of gender), a otaku warrior who believes he has mystical powers, and a shy womanizer who seems to be a failure with the ladies.  But really, every character is so unique, with great design and color.  It’s really a joy to play this game.

In case I haven’t convinced you to play this game yet, I’ll leave you here this this, a  close-up picture of Chrom’s face telling you to to please buy and play his game.  Enjoy!

Buy my game ❤️

Currently Drinking – 🍵🍉 Watermelon Oolong

2 thoughts on “👑Favorite Games – Fire Emblem: Awakening

Leave a Reply

