👑 Favorite Games – Paper Mario: Thousand Year Door

Well, I’m just not sure what to think of the upcoming Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam.  I am a big time fan of the Paper Mario series, and a lesser enthusiast of the Mario & Luigi games.  Like many fans, I was super disappointed in Paper Mario: Sticker Star because of its lack of partner interaction and general story over all (the most redeeming part of the game was slapping Kamek with flip-flops).  I really really hope this game turns out well, and I also hope Nintendo still has room in their hearts to make another pure Paper Mario adventure like my beloved Paper Mario: Thousand Year Door.  Let’s talk about that game, shall we?

Everything about this game screams greatness.  Thanks to the paper aesthetic, the GameCube era graphics still look pretty sharp by today’s standards (Ditto for the N64 original, Paper Mario, but understandably less so), and the cast is fill of fun, colorful lively character and vibrant destinations awaiting exploration.  To save the world this time, Mario has to travel to the ghetto, become a professional wrestler, commandeer a pirate ship, and get blasted to the moon 🌙, all while collecting the seven crystal stars. 🌟  (There are always seven, aren’t there?)

The dialogue, like other Intelligent System games, is super great (no, I don’t work for them, but I probably should.)  This game is always able to bring a smile to my face.  Throughout the story, Mario picks up a number of partners that add fun and depth to the story.  Notable partners include a cute shadow witch, a thief mouser, and a Yoshi kid you hatch yourself who calls you “The Great Gonzalez”.

Some of the non-partner characters are pretty great too, i mean, just look at this guy 💛:

The gameplay is easy to pick up compared to many RPGs, but is still a lot of fun; it’s a great RPG if you’ve never played an RPG before, or don’t really care for the stats-driven nature of many traditional RPGs.  That’s not to say Paper Mario doesn’t require any strategy, it’s just a little more casual than, say, Final Fantasy.  It’s turn-based, so it’s also possible to enjoy a cup of tea and a snack while playing, which is always a major bonus 🍰🍵

Unfortunately, if you want to give this game a try, GameCube games are not supported on the Wii U, which means you’ll have to bust out your old Wii to give it a try.  It’s also looking a little pricey at the moment, but I’m sure there’s better deals to be had.  If you can get your hands on this gem, I highly recommend giving it a playthrough! ❤️

Currently Drinking – 🌺❄️Iced ‘Anela’ black tea from Lupicia (Hawaii exclusive; discontinued)

2 thoughts on “👑 Favorite Games – Paper Mario: Thousand Year Door

  1. OMG, Paper Mario:The Thousand Year Door is my favorite too! I will admit I played it first before realizing it was a sequel. But at least it kind of prepped me for the first one when I finally did play the original Paper Mario. Hee-hee, I got the pink Yoshi on my very first play through. I wasn’t very creative with his name, just Yoshi(with a heart symbol).This game quite literally sparked my insanity, ESPECIALLY the final boss. 😉

    I’m actually very excited for Paper Jam. I think it’s Nintendo’s silent apology for how they went about with Sticker Star. Superstar Saga and Dream Team were my favorites, mostly because we were exploring different places instead of rehashed and re-geographied(?) map of the Mushroom Kingdom plus Bowser’s castle.

    However, I will admit one disappointing thing about Paper Jam, even though it’s too soon to say for sure and Nintendo can only show so much at E3 Demo wise, but it looks like we’ll be doing a lot of Paper Toad hunting. There is a video of all that the demo piece of Paper Jam has to offer, the weird Mech fight, Boss Battle with Petey Piranha, and a LOT of quests that all mean dashing around shy guys to save the Paper Toads. But the game comes out next year so we’ll see…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I didn’t see too much of the E3 Treehouse demo of the game (I got E3 fatigue after spending too long reading the comments section of Kotaku) but I liked the idea of the Paper Mario gang meeting their counterparts. I would also be tremendously excited to have Paper Mario as Super Smash Bros DLC. Like…turn into an airplane and whack people with a hammer, etc. Would be so cool!

      Paper Mario, particularly Thousand Year Door, inspired a lot of my fanfics, so I’m really hoping they bring back that beautiful, wonderful storytelling so I can get inspired like that again! There’s so many good games coming out next year, I’m burning though the last few games in my backlog and then I’ll have to figure out what in the world I’m going to do until 2016, lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

